The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan and later Brandon Sanderson

The “The Wheel of Time” series, authored by the renowned Robert Jordan and later continued by Brandon Sanderson after Jordan’s passing, is a sprawling epic fantasy that spans fourteen books, published between 1990 and 2013.

Set in a vast, intricate world that reverberates with the cyclical nature of time, the narrative follows the journey of Rand al’Thor, a young man prophesied to be the Dragon Reborn, destined to confront the Dark One and either save or doom the world.

Accompanied by a diverse cast of characters, Rand grapples with his destiny, the complexities of leadership, and the weight of prophecy. The series delves into themes of fate, power, balance, and the nature of good and evil.

Earning admiration from both critics and readers, the books have been adapted into a television series and have left a lasting legacy in the fantasy genre. Noteworthy elements include Jordan’s intricate magic system, the concept of ‘ta’veren’, and the rich tapestry of cultures and histories he wove into the narrative.

AuthorRobert Jordan (Books 1-11, with Brandon Sanderson completing 12-14 after Jordan’s death)
GenreEpic Fantasy
Number of Books14
Publication Years1990 – 2013

Main Characters

  • Rand al’Thor: The central protagonist, a young man from the village of Emond’s Field, who discovers he is the Dragon Reborn.
  • Matrim Cauthon (Mat): Rand’s childhood friend, known for his luck and a mysterious medallion that protects him.
  • Perrin Aybara: Another of Rand’s close friends, who has a unique connection to wolves.
  • Egwene al’Vere: A young woman from Emond’s Field with a talent for channeling, she becomes a powerful Aes Sedai.
  • Nynaeve al’Meara: The village Wisdom with a fierce temper and unmatched healing abilities.
Popular:  The Broken Empire Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological order

Themes and Motif

  • Fate and Destiny: The cyclical nature of time and the roles individuals play in the Pattern.
  • Power and Corruption: The seductive and often dangerous nature of channeling, especially saidin, which is tainted.
  • Balance: The duality and balance between male and female, especially in the magic system.
  • Good vs. Evil: The ongoing battle between the forces of the Light and the Shadow.

The Wheel of Time Series in Order

S no.Book’s Name (Year)Book’s Price
1The Eye of the World (1990)Check Price
2The Great Hunt (1990)Check Price
3The Dragon Reborn (1991)Check Price
4The Shadow Rising (1992)Check Price
5The Fires of Heaven (1993)Check Price
6Lord of Chaos (1994)Check Price
7A Crown of Swords (1996)Check Price
8The Path of Daggers (1998)Check Price
9Winter’s Heart (2000)Check Price
10Crossroads of Twilight (2003)Check Price
11Knife of Dreams (2005)Check Price
12The Gathering Storm (2009)Check Price
13Towers of Midnight (2010)Check Price
14A Memory of Light (2013)Check Price


  • Critical Reception: “The Wheel of Time” is celebrated for its detailed world-building, intricate plotlines, and well-developed characters.
  • Reader Reception: The series boasts a dedicated global fanbase and has sold over 80 million copies worldwide.


Television Series

  • Release Dates: The series premiered on Amazon Prime Video on November 19, 2021.
  • Cast: Josha Stradowski (Rand al’Thor), Madeleine Madden (Egwene al’Vere), Marcus Rutherford (Perrin Aybara), and many others.
  • Reception: The show has received a generally positive reception from critics and audiences. It has been praised for its character development, world-building, and visual effects, but some have criticized it for its pacing and deviations from the source material.
Popular:  50 Best Fantasy Book Series (Must Read Before you Die)

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • Robert Jordan had originally planned the series to be a trilogy.
  • The concept of ‘ta’veren’ refers to individuals around whom the Pattern of the world weaves most tightly.
  • Jordan drew inspiration from various world mythologies and cultures to craft the diverse societies within the series.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!