The Abhorsen Series by Garth

The “Abhorsen” series, penned by the acclaimed Garth Nix, is a gripping fantasy sequence that currently spans five novels, starting with the publication of “Sabriel” in 1995. Set in the Old Kingdom, a land where Free Magic and Charter Magic exist, the series follows the Abhorsens, a line of necromancers committed to putting the dead to rest and preventing Free Magic creatures from wreaking havoc.

The narrative primarily revolves around Sabriel, Lirael, and their subsequent kin as they grapple with their destinies, confront malevolent undead forces, and strive to maintain the balance of magic in their world.

The series is renowned for its unique magical system, compelling characters, and the intricate exploration of life, death, and sacrifice.

AuthorGarth Nix
GenreFantasy, Young Adult
Number of Books6
Publication Years1995 – Present

Main Characters

  • Sabriel: The titular character of the first book, she is a young Abhorsen-in-training who must step into her role earlier than expected.
  • Lirael: A Daughter of the Clayr who later discovers her deeper connection to the Abhorsen lineage.
  • Touchstone: A former prince who aids Sabriel in her quest.
  • Mogget: A mysterious Free Magic creature bound to serve the Abhorsen lineage.
  • The Disreputable Dog: A magical creature with ties to Lirael and the Clayr.

Themes and Motif

  • Life and Death: The series delves deep into the realms of death and the responsibilities of the Abhorsens to maintain the balance.
  • Destiny and Self-Discovery: Characters often grapple with their preordained roles and the choices they must make.
  • Sacrifice: Many characters in the series make significant sacrifices for the greater good.
  • Magic and Power: The series explores the dichotomy between Free Magic and Charter Magic, and the responsibilities that come with wielding such power.
Popular:  Anthony Horowitz Books in Order: Complete Guide in Chronological Sequence

The Abhorsen Series in Order

S No.Book’s NameYearBook’s Price
1Sabriel1995Check Price
2Lirael2001Check Price
3Abhorsen2003Check Price
4Clariel2014Check Price
5Goldenhand2016Check Price
6Terciel and Elinor2021Check Price


  • Critical Reception: The “Abhorsen” series has been praised for its inventive magic system, strong character development, and intricate world-building.
  • Reader Reception: The series has a dedicated fanbase and is considered a staple in young adult fantasy literature.

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • The series is known for its unique portrayal of death, which is divided into nine precincts or gates.
  • Garth Nix has mentioned that the character of Mogget was inspired by his own white Burmese cat.
  • The bells used by the Abhorsens to control the dead are a distinctive feature of the series, with each bell having its own name and power.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!