The Licanius Triology

The “Licanius Trilogy,” penned by James Islington, is a gripping epic fantasy series that spans three books, published between 2014 and 2019. Set in the land of Andarra, the series follows a group of characters as they navigate a world filled with ancient prophecies, mysterious artifacts, and powerful magic. At the heart of the story is the struggle against a looming threat that seeks to reshape the world according to its dark designs.

Throughout the series, characters grapple with questions of identity, destiny, and the moral complexities of power and choice. The narrative is known for its intricate plot twists, deep lore, and character-driven storytelling.

AuthorJames Islington
GenreEpic Fantasy
Number of Books3
Publication Years2014 – 2019

Main Characters

  • Davian: A young student at a school for Gifted individuals, he discovers he has a connection to an ancient prophecy.
  • Wirr: Davian’s close friend and the heir to the Northwarden title, he grapples with his responsibilities and loyalties.
  • Ash: A mysterious woman with a forgotten past, she possesses a unique and powerful Gift.
  • Caeden: A man with no memory of his past, he is central to the unfolding events and mysteries of the series.

Themes and Motif

  • Identity and Memory: The series delves into the complexities of identity, especially as characters confront forgotten or hidden pasts.
  • Choice and Destiny: Characters are often faced with morally ambiguous decisions, challenging the notion of predetermined fate.
  • Power and Responsibility: The narrative explores the consequences of wielding great power and the responsibilities that come with it.
  • Friendship and Loyalty: Bonds of friendship are tested and explored throughout the series.
Popular:  The Inheritance Cycle Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological order

The Licanius Trilogy Series in Order

S no.Book’s Name (Year)Book’s Price
1The Shadow of What Was Lost (2014)Check Price
2An Echo of Things to Come (2017)Check Price
3The Light of All That Falls (2019)Check Price


  • Critical Reception: The “Licanius Trilogy” has been praised for its intricate plotting, character development, and rich world-building.
  • Reader Reception: The series has garnered a dedicated fanbase, with readers appreciating its depth and complexity.

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • James Islington was inspired to write the series after being a long-time fan of epic fantasy, drawing inspiration from genre giants like Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson.
  • The series is known for its detailed magic system, which is central to the plot and character arcs.
  • Islington self-published the first book, “The Shadow of What Was Lost,” before it was picked up by a major publisher due to its success.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!