The Inheritance Trilogy by N.K. Jemisin

The “Inheritance Trilogy,” penned by the acclaimed N.K. Jemisin, is a groundbreaking fantasy series that spans three main novels, published between 2010 and 2011. Set in a world where gods, mortals, and everything in between coexist, the series delves into themes of power, love, and oppression.

The narrative revolves around the Arameri family, who wield immense power due to their control over enslaved gods. Over the course of the trilogy, readers are introduced to a rich tapestry of characters and intricate politics, all set against the backdrop of a world teetering on the brink of change.

Jemisin’s storytelling is known for its depth, complexity, and willingness to tackle heavy themes, making the “Inheritance Trilogy” a standout in modern fantasy literature.

AuthorN.K. Jemisin
Number of Books4
Publication Years2010 – 2015

Main Characters

  • Yeine Darr: A young woman from the barbarian north, thrust into the deadly politics of the Arameri.
  • Nahadoth: The Nightlord, a god of chaos and change, enslaved by the Arameri.
  • Itempas: The Skyfather, a god of order and light.
  • Sieh: The god of mischief and childhood, also enslaved by the Arameri.

Themes and Motif

  • Power and Oppression: The series delves deep into the dynamics of power, especially the consequences of absolute control over gods and mortals alike.
  • Love and Sacrifice: Relationships, both divine and mortal, play a central role, highlighting the complexities of love and the sacrifices it demands.
  • Identity and Legacy: Characters grapple with their past, their roles in the present, and the legacies they wish to leave behind.

The Inheritance Trilogy Series in Order

S no.Book’s Name(Year)Book’s Price
1The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (2010)Check Price
2The Broken Kingdoms (2010)Check Price
3The Kingdom of Gods (2011)Check Price
4Shades in Shadow (2015)Check Price


  • Critical Reception: The “Inheritance Trilogy” has been lauded for its innovative world-building, complex characters, and Jemisin’s unique voice. It has solidified her place as a leading figure in contemporary fantasy.
  • Reader Reception: The series has been well-received by readers, praised for its depth and the fresh perspective it brings to the fantasy genre.
Popular:  Louise Penny’s Books in Order: Complete Guide in Chronological Sequence

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • N.K. Jemisin’s debut novel, “The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms,” was nominated for several awards and marked her as a significant new voice in fantasy.
  • The series is known for its diverse representation and its challenge to traditional fantasy tropes.
  • Jemisin has mentioned in interviews that the series, particularly its exploration of power dynamics, was influenced by her experiences and observations as a black woman in America.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!