The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

The “The Chronicles of Narnia” series, penned by the renowned C.S. Lewis, is a captivating fantasy series that spans seven books, published between 1950 and 1956. Set in the magical land of Narnia, the stories revolve around the adventures of various children from our world who are transported to Narnia, where they confront evil forces and meet the majestic lion, Aslan.

Throughout their journeys, the children encounter mythical creatures, face moral dilemmas, and learn valuable life lessons. The series delves into themes of faith, redemption, courage, and the battle between good and evil.

Receiving widespread admiration from both critics and readers, the books have been adapted into multiple films, television series, and stage productions, leaving a lasting impact on the fantasy genre.

AuthorC.S. Lewis
Number of Books7
Publication Years1950 – 1956

Main Characters

  • Peter Pevensie: The eldest of the Pevensie siblings, he becomes a king in Narnia.
  • Susan Pevensie: Peter’s elder sister, known for her archery skills, she also becomes a queen.
  • Edmund Pevensie: Initially betraying his siblings, he redeems himself and becomes a king.
  • Lucy Pevensie: The youngest sibling, she discovers Narnia and is known for her faith in Aslan.
  • Aslan: The great lion, symbolic of good and the Christ figure in Narnia.
  • White Witch: The primary antagonist, she casts Narnia into eternal winter.

Themes and Motif

  • Faith and Redemption: Characters like Edmund undergo transformation through faith and redemption.
  • Good vs. Evil: The constant battle between the forces of good, led by Aslan, and evil, led by the White Witch and others.
  • Courage and Sacrifice: Characters often face dangerous situations, requiring bravery and sacrifice.
  • Growth and Maturity: The series showcases the growth and maturity of the main characters as they face various challenges.
Popular:  The Lord of the Rings Series in Order: Complete Guide in Chronological order

The Chronicles of Narnia Series in Order

S no.Book’s NameYearBook’s Price
1The Magician’s Nephew1955Check Price
2The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe1950Check Price
3The Horse and His Boy1954Check Price
4Prince Caspian1951Check Price
5The Voyage of the Dawn Treader1952Check Price
6The Silver Chair1953Check Price
7The Last Battle1956Check Price


  • Critical Reception: “The Chronicles of Narnia” is celebrated for its imaginative storytelling, memorable characters, and profound themes.
  • Reader Reception: The series has enchanted readers of all ages and has sold over 100 million copies globally.


Film Series

  • Release Dates: 2005 – 2010
  • Director: Andrew Adamson, Michael Apted
  • Cast: Georgie Henley (Lucy Pevensie), Skandar Keynes (Edmund Pevensie), William Moseley (Peter Pevensie), Anna Popplewell (Susan Pevensie), and others.
  • Reception: The film adaptations, especially “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe,” received positive reviews and were commercially successful.

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien were close friends, and both were members of the literary group, The Inklings.
  • “The Magician’s Nephew” serves as a prequel, explaining the origins of Narnia, though it was the sixth book published.
  • The series has Christian allegorical elements, with Aslan representing Christ and the White Witch symbolizing evil.
  • Lewis dedicated “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” to his goddaughter, Lucy Barfield.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!