The Riyria Revelations by Michael J. Sullivan

The “Riyria Revelations” series, penned by the talented Michael J. Sullivan, is an engaging fantasy adventure that spans six books, originally published between 2008 and 2012. Set in the fictional world of Elan, the story follows two unlikely heroes: Royce Melborn, a skilled thief with a dark past, and Hadrian Blackwater, an idealistic mercenary with unmatched sword skills. Together, they form the thieving duo known as “Riyria.”

As the series progresses, what starts as simple heists and adventures for the pair evolves into a grand tale of political intrigue, ancient secrets, and a looming war. The narrative is known for its character-driven plot, witty dialogue, and intricate world-building.

The “Riyria Revelations” has been praised for its blend of traditional fantasy elements with fresh, modern storytelling, making it a favorite among fans of the genre.

AuthorMichael J. Sullivan
Number of Books6
Publication Years2008 – 2012

Main Characters

  • Royce Melborn: A cynical and stealthy thief with a mysterious background.
  • Hadrian Blackwater: A kind-hearted and honorable swordsman, often serving as the moral compass of the duo.
  • Arista Essendon: A talented wizard and princess who becomes deeply involved in Riyria’s adventures.
  • Thrace/Modina: A simple village girl who undergoes significant transformation throughout the series.

Themes and Motif

  • Friendship and Loyalty: The bond between Royce and Hadrian is central to the series, showcasing the depth of their friendship and loyalty to one another.
  • Political Intrigue: The series delves into the complexities of power struggles, betrayals, and the machinations of the ruling elite.
  • Destiny and Free Will: Characters grapple with their predetermined roles in prophecies and the choices they make.
  • Sacrifice: Many characters, especially the main duo, face difficult decisions that test their values and commitments.
Popular:  The Demon Cycle Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological order

The Riyria Revelations Series in Order

S no.Book’s NameYearBook’s Price
1The Crown Conspiracy2008Check Price
2Avempartha2009Check Price
3Nyphron Rising2009Check Price
4The Emerald Storm2010Check Price
5Wintertide2011Check Price
6Percepliquis2012Check Price


  • Critical Reception: The “Riyria Revelations” has been lauded for its engaging storytelling, memorable characters, and intricate plot twists.
  • Reader Reception: The series has garnered a dedicated fanbase, with many praising its balance of humor, action, and emotional depth.

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • Michael J. Sullivan initially self-published the series before it was picked up by Orbit Books, which republished the series in three two-book omnibus editions.
  • Sullivan wrote the entire series before publishing the first book to ensure a cohesive and interconnected narrative.
  • The author has also written a prequel series, “The Riyria Chronicles,” which delves into the earlier adventures of Royce and Hadrian.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!