The Book of the Ancestor by Mark Lawrence

The “Book of the Ancestor” series by Mark Lawrence is a fantasy trilogy that revolves around a young girl named Nona who is trained at the Convent of Sweet Mercy, an institution that raises girls to become assassins, mages, and warriors. The series is set in a world where a dying sun casts its dim light upon a narrow habitable band between the ice and the heat. The story is known for its intricate character development, intense action sequences, and the exploration of friendship, loyalty, and destiny.

AuthorMark Lawrence
Number of Books3
Publication Years2017 – 2019

Main Characters

  • Nona Grey: The protagonist, a young girl with a dark past, who is trained at the Convent of Sweet Mercy.
  • Zole: A mysterious girl from the ice tribes with whom Nona forms a complex bond.
  • Sister Kettle: A nun at the Convent of Sweet Mercy who plays a significant role in Nona’s life.
  • Sister Glass: The convent’s mistress of novices. Themes and Motif |
  • Friendship: The bond between Nona and her friends is central to the series.
  • Destiny and Choice: The characters grapple with their destinies and the choices they make.
  • Power and Corruption: The series explores the corrupting nature of power and the lengths individuals will go to obtain it.
  • Sacrifice: Characters often face difficult decisions that require personal sacrifice.

Book of the Ancestor Series in Order:

S No.Book’s NameYear of PublicationBook’s Price
1Red Sister2017Check Price
2Grey Sister2018Check Price
3Holy Sister2019Check Price


  • Critical Reception: The “Book of the Ancestor” series has been praised for its compelling characters, intricate world-building, and gripping narrative.
  • Reader Reception: The series has garnered a dedicated fanbase and has been well-received by readers for its depth and emotional resonance.
Popular:  Temeraire Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological order

Trivia and Fun Facts:

  • The world in which the series is set is unique, with its focus on a narrow habitable band and the significance of the dying sun.
  • Mark Lawrence’s writing is known for its philosophical undertones and exploration of human nature.

Written by

Naveen Mehta

Naveen is a book enthusiast by day and an anime junkie by night. With a knack for getting lost in stories that rattle his brain, he's often found immersed in a plot twist or debating book vs. movie adaptations. Dive into his world, but be prepared for some spirited blogs! 📚🍜🌌