Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

“The Mistborn” series, crafted by the acclaimed Brandon Sanderson, is a high-fantasy saga that initially revolves around a trilogy, published between 2006 and 2008. Set in a dark and oppressive world known as Scadrial, where ash falls from the sky and mist dominates the night, the series introduces a unique magical system based on the ingestion and “burning” of metals, granting the user various powers.

The narrative begins in a city called Luthadel, under the rule of the immortal Lord Ruler. The story follows Vin, a young street thief with latent magical abilities, and Kelsier, a charismatic leader with plans to overthrow the Lord Ruler’s oppressive regime. As the series progresses, it delves into themes of power, revolution, sacrifice, and the nature of heroism.

Sanderson’s intricate world-building and innovative magic system have garnered the series significant praise, making it a staple in modern fantasy literature.

AuthorBrandon Sanderson
Number of Books8
Publication Years2006 – 2008

Main Characters

  • Vin: A young skaa (lower class) woman who discovers she is a Mistborn, capable of using all the Allomantic metals.
  • Kelsier: A skilled Mistborn and the leader of a crew planning to overthrow the Lord Ruler.
  • Elend Venture: A nobleman and scholar who becomes an important political figure and Vin’s love interest.
  • Sazed: A Terrisman with the ability to store knowledge and abilities in metal “metalminds.”
  • Lord Ruler: The immortal and tyrannical ruler of the Final Empire.

Themes and Motif

  • Revolution and Rebellion: The initial struggle against the Lord Ruler’s regime.
  • Identity and Belonging: Vin’s journey from a mistrusting street thief to a powerful Mistborn and leader.
  • Sacrifice: Characters often face choices that require personal sacrifices for the greater good.
  • Power and Corruption: The series explores the corrupting influence of absolute power and the complexities of leadership.
Popular:  The Liveship Traders Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological order

Mistborn Trilogy in Order

S no.Book’s NameYearBook’s Price
1Mistborn: The Final Empire2006Check Price
2Mistborn: The Well of Ascension2007Check Price
3Mistborn: The Hero of Ages2008Check Price
4Mistborn: The Alloy of Law2011Check Price
5Mistborn: Shadows of Self2015Check Price
6Mistborn: The Bands of Mourning2016Check Price
7Mistborn: The Lost Metal (forthcoming)2022Check Price
3.5Mistborn: Secret History2016Check Price


  • Critical Reception: “The Mistborn” series is lauded for its unique magic system, intricate plot, and well-developed characters.
  • Reader Reception: The series has a dedicated fanbase and is often recommended to fantasy enthusiasts.

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • Sanderson has expanded the “Mistborn” universe with a follow-up series set hundreds of years after the original trilogy, blending fantasy with a steampunk aesthetic.
  • Allomancy, the primary magic system in the series, is based on the ingestion of metals, each granting a specific power when “burned” by the user.
  • Sanderson has mentioned that he plans for the “Mistborn” series to be a multi-era saga, with stories set in different time periods on Scadrial.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!