Jack Carr Books In Order

Jack Carr, an ex-Navy SEAL and New York Times bestselling author, has an illustrious career spanning two decades in the special forces. Serving in diverse roles, he led assault and sniper teams in Iraq and Afghanistan, and participated in counter-insurgency operations in the Philippines.

Inspired by his grandfather, a WWII Marine aviator, Carr’s military aspirations were further fueled by war novels he read during his childhood. 

Today, apart from being a celebrated author, Carr enjoys hunting and spending quality time with his family. He currently resides in Park City, Utah.

Major Books6
D.O.B3 July, 1975
NationalityAmerican
SocialInstagram
Websitewww.officialjackcarr.com

Jack Carr’s Writing Genre/Style

Jack Carr’s primary genre is action-thriller. Drawing from his real-life experiences as a Navy SEAL, Carr infuses authenticity into his novels, offering readers a gripping blend of military operations, conspiracies, and personal struggles. His works often delve into themes like PTSD, government scandals, and the intricacies of warfare.

List of Jack Carr’s Books in Order

James Reece: A series by Jack Carr

S. No.Books From James Reece SeriesYear
1The Terminal List(2018)
2True Believer (2019)
3Savage Son(2020)
4The Devil’s Hand (2021)
5In the Blood (2022)
6Only the Dead (2023)
Jack Carr Books in Order infographic

Jack Carr’s Literary Contribution & Awards

Jack Carr’s contributions to literature are primarily in the action-thriller genre. His debut novel, “The Terminal List,” was adapted into a television series starring Chris Pratt, which premiered on Amazon Prime Video. 

Carr’s books have received numerous nominations, including the Goodreads Choice Award for Debut Author, Thriller Award for Best First Novel, Barry Award for Best Thriller, and Audie Award for Thriller/Suspense. 

His authentic portrayal of military life and operations, drawn from his extensive experience as a Navy SEAL, has earned him a spot atop multiple bestseller lists.

Jack Carr’s Books Detailed Info

1. The Terminal List

  • Logline: A Navy SEAL discovers the American government’s involvement in the deaths of his team and seeks vengeance in this political thriller.
  • Publishing Year: 2018
  • Goodreads Ratings: 4.27 (from 44,079 ratings)
Popular:  The Kingkiller Chronicle Series in Order: Complete Guide in Chronological order
The Terminal List

Lieutenant Commander James Reece’s final combat deployment ends in tragedy when his team is ambushed, resulting in the death of every member, including the aircrew sent for their rescue. The devastation continues upon his return home when those closest to him are brutally murdered.

Reece soon realizes that this isn’t the act of a foreign adversary but a deep-rooted conspiracy within the U.S. government. Now, without any familial ties and free from military constraints, Reece uses his extensive combat experience to seek revenge against those responsible.

This gripping thriller delves into the dangers of unchecked power and the lengths individuals will go to attain it. Ideal for fans of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Stephen Hunter, and Nelson DeMille.”

“The Terminal List” Has Been Adapted into a TV Series by Amazon Prime
Director: Antoine Fuqua
Cast: Chris Pratt, Taylor Kitsch, Constance Wu, Jeanne Tripplehorn, Riley Keough, Patrick SchwarzeneggerThe Terminal List

2. True Believer

  • Logline: In Jack Carr’s sequel to “The Terminal List,” former Navy SEAL James Reece’s expertise and valor not only earn him the US government’s gratitude but also draw him into a new cycle of vengeance.
  • Publishing Year: 2019
  • Goodreads Ratings: 4.34 (from 25,096 ratings)
True Believer

Following a series of devastating terrorist attacks across the Western world, the global markets plummet. Orchestrated by an elusive former Iraqi commando, the US government sees an opportunity to turn the tide using their asset, James Reece, now the nation’s most-wanted domestic terrorist.

After seeking vengeance for his family and team, Reece hides in Mozambique, shielded by his former SEAL Team member’s family. However, his location is soon compromised. The CIA, offering a Presidential pardon and immunity for his allies, recruits him.
Reluctantly serving the US, Reece embarks on a mission, targeting terrorist leaders, uncovering a traitorous CIA officer, and thwarting a deadly assassination plot with global implications. “True Believer” is a gripping tale of action, espionage, and betrayal.

Popular:  The Chronicles of the Black Company Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological order

3. Savage Son

  • Logline: In this high-octane thriller, former Navy SEAL James Reece infiltrates the Russian mafia, turning the hunters into the hunted.
  • Publishing Year: 2020
  • Goodreads Ratings: 4.49 (based on 20,574 ratings)
Savage Son

Deep in Siberia, a woman is pursued by a man with deadly secrets. Meanwhile, a treacherous CIA officer seeks refuge with the Russian mafia, plotting against a former Navy SEAL sniper. Halfway across the world, James Reece is recovering from brain surgery in Montana, aided by journalist Katie Buranek and SEAL teammate Raife Hastings.


Unbeknownst to Reece, the Russian mafia targets him in a lethal game. Jack Carr delves into humanity’s darkest instincts through Reece, a man acquainted with both its best and worst. As threats converge, Reece’s survival instincts are tested in this visceral, heart-pounding thriller.

4. The Devil’s Hand

  • Logline: A new president with a secret, a regional superpower facing sanctions, and a young PhD student with access to bioweapons. As the enemy prepares to strike again, the nation’s security hangs in the balance.
  • Publishing Year: 2021
  • Goodreads Ratings: 4.45 (from 17,000 ratings)
The Devils hand

Two decades post 9/11, the U.S. faces threats both domestic and international. A charismatic new president offers hope, but he harbors a clandestine past. Across the world, a regional superpower grapples with sanctions from the U.S. and its allies.

Their ancient religion has given rise to deadly assassins. As the Supreme Leader devises a plan to challenge the world’s most potent nation, a young scholar gains access to bioweapons deep within a classified facility.

Entrusted with a mission, this second-generation agent is poised to bring his adopted country to its knees. In this intricate web of suspense and intrigue, the stakes have never been higher.

5. In the Blood

  • Logline: The #1 New York Times bestselling Terminal List series continues as James Reece embarks on a global journey of vengeance.
  • Publishing Year: 2022 (First published May 31, 2022)
  • Goodreads Ratings: 4.50 (14,203 ratings)
In The Blood

In the African country of Burkina Faso, a woman completes a targeted assassination for Israel, only to have her plane blown out of the sky minutes later. Over 6,000 miles away, former Navy SEAL James Reece recognizes a face among the victims on cable news—a Mossad operative he once knew in Iraq.

This woman had connections to the intelligence services of two nations, and Reece believed he’d never see her again. Determined to find her killer, Reece enlists friends from around the world.

However, he may be unknowingly stepping into a lethal trap. The story is a thrilling blend of espionage, revenge, and international intrigue.

Popular:  Tana French’s Books in Order: Complete Guide in Chronological Sequence

6. Only the Dead

  • Logline: In a world nearing war, with political division and shocking events, a secret group of global elites believe they’re close to taking control. However, the past’s secrets and James Reece have other plans.
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Goodreads Ratings: 4.59 (from 8,582 ratings)
Only the Dead

Set in 1978, Rhode Island, a freshman senator’s assassination sends shockwaves that last for over four decades. Fast forward to the present, the world teeters on the edge of war, grappling with political unrest, inflation, and startling assassinations.

A clandestine group of global power players thinks they’ve removed the last barrier to their total control. However, they’ve miscalculated. With the world’s most formidable man isolated, secrets from yesteryears begin to emerge.

From Wall Street’s firms to the power hubs in Washington, DC, and Moscow, these revelations are impossible to ignore. James Reece, against all odds, embarks on a mission that has been brewing for generations. For a man seeking vengeance, odds mean little.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Are Jack Carr books fiction?

    Yes, Jack Carr’s books are fiction

  • Is Jack Carr in the terminal list?

    No, Jack Carr isn’t a character; “The Terminal List” is his debut novel.

  • Which Jack Carr book is the best?

    “Best” is subjective; all have been praised but preferences vary.

  • Who are similar authors like Jack Carr?

    Authors like Jack Carr: Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, Mark Greaney.

  • Will Jack Carr write a 7th book?

    There is no recent announcement regarding Jack Carr’s 7th book.

  • What are some key elements in Jack Carr’s books?

    Key elements: military tactics, espionage, deep conspiracies, personal vendettas, realism.

  • Do I need to read all the books in the James Reece series to understand the storyline?

    It’s recommended for continuity, but each book has its standalone plot.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!