The Red Queens War by Mark Lawrence

“The Red Queen’s War” trilogy by Mark Lawrence is a dark fantasy series set in the same world as his earlier “Broken Empire” trilogy. While it shares the universe, it introduces new characters and perspectives, offering a fresh narrative that can be enjoyed both by fans of the previous series and newcomers alike.

The story follows Prince Jalan Kendeth, a self-proclaimed coward and womanizer, and Snorri ver Snagason, a Norse warrior. Their unlikely partnership is the result of a sorcerous entanglement that binds them together, leading them on a perilous journey filled with magic, monsters, and intrigue.

AuthorMark Lawrence
GenreDark Fantasy
Number of Books3
Publication Years2014 – 2016

Main Characters

  • Prince Jalan Kendeth: A self-centered and cowardly prince who prefers the luxuries of life over responsibilities.
  • Snorri ver Snagason: A brave and honorable Norse warrior on a quest to rescue his family.
  • The Red Queen: A powerful and enigmatic ruler with her own agenda.

Themes and Motif

  • Friendship: The unlikely bond between Jalan and Snorri forms the heart of the series.
  • Destiny and Choice: The characters grapple with their fates and the choices they make in the face of adversity.
  • Power and Corruption: The series delves into the lengths individuals will go to obtain and wield power.
  • Courage and Cowardice: Jalan’s journey challenges his own perception of bravery and heroism.

The Red Queen’s War Series in Order:

S No.Book’s NameYear of PublicationBook’s Price
1Prince of Fools2014Check Price
2The Liar’s Key2015Check Price
3The Wheel of Osheim2016Check Price


  • Critical Reception: “The Red Queen’s War” has been lauded for its engaging characters, especially the dynamic between the two protagonists, and its intricate plot twists.
  • Reader Reception: Fans of Mark Lawrence appreciated the fresh perspective in the shared universe, and the series has been praised for its blend of humor, action, and philosophical undertones.
Popular:  The Wheel of Time Series in Order: Complete Guide in Chronological order

Trivia and Fun Facts:

  • While “The Red Queen’s War” is set in the same world as “The Broken Empire” trilogy, it offers a different tone and perspective, making it distinct in its own right.
  • Mark Lawrence’s writing often delves into the complexities of human nature, morality, and the gray areas between good and evil.

Written by

Naveen Mehta

Naveen is a book enthusiast by day and an anime junkie by night. With a knack for getting lost in stories that rattle his brain, he's often found immersed in a plot twist or debating book vs. movie adaptations. Dive into his world, but be prepared for some spirited blogs! 📚🍜🌌