The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud

The “Bartimaeus Trilogy,” penned by the talented Jonathan Stroud, is a gripping fantasy series that consists of three main books, published between 2003 and 2005. Set in an alternate London, where magic is real and magicians rule the government, the story revolves around a young and ambitious magician named Nathaniel and a sarcastic, ancient djinni named Bartimaeus.

Summoned by Nathaniel for revenge against a powerful magician, Bartimaeus finds himself entangled in political intrigues, rebellions, and a deeper conspiracy that threatens the very fabric of the magical society. The series delves into themes of power, freedom, and the moral complexities of ambition.

Stroud’s witty writing, combined with the unique footnotes provided by Bartimaeus, offers readers a refreshing and humorous take on the fantasy genre.

AuthorJonathan Stroud
Number of Books3
Publication Years2003 – 2005

Main Characters

  • Bartimaeus: A 5,000-year-old djinni with a sharp wit, vast experience, and a penchant for sarcasm. He often provides humorous footnotes throughout the narrative.
  • Nathaniel/John Mandrake: A young magician who summons Bartimaeus for personal revenge, but grows throughout the series, grappling with his own ambition and morality.
  • Kitty Jones: A member of the Resistance against the magicians. She plays a pivotal role in the unfolding events and challenges Nathaniel’s views on magic and power.

Themes and Motif

  • Power and Ambition: The series examines the consequences of unchecked ambition and the corrupting nature of power.
  • Freedom and Oppression: The plight of magical entities like Bartimaeus, who are enslaved by magicians, highlights themes of freedom and oppression.
  • Moral Complexity: Characters are often faced with moral dilemmas, forcing them to question their beliefs and actions.
Popular:  Anthony Horowitz Books in Order: Complete Guide in Chronological Sequence

The Bartimaeus Trilogy in Order

S No.Book’s NameYear of PublicationBook’s Price
1The Amulet of Samarkand2003Check Price
2The Golem’s Eye2004Check Price
3Ptolemy’s Gate2005Check Price


  • Critical Reception: The “Bartimaeus Trilogy” has been praised for its unique narrative style, engaging plot, and the depth of its characters, especially the titular djinni.
  • Reader Reception: The series has garnered a dedicated fanbase, with many readers appreciating its blend of humor, action, and thought-provoking themes.

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • Bartimaeus’s footnotes are a distinctive feature of the series, providing additional information, historical tidbits, and, most often, humorous asides.
  • The series doesn’t just focus on the magical world but also delves into the lives of commoners and their perspectives on the ruling magicians.
  • Jonathan Stroud also wrote a prequel to the trilogy titled “The Ring of Solomon,” set in ancient Jerusalem and featuring Bartimaeus.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!