The Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson

Penned by the talented Steven Erikson, “The Malazan Book of the Fallen” is a monumental epic fantasy series that spans ten main books, published between 1999 and 2011. Set in the Malazan Empire and several other diverse continents and realms, the series delves into the lives of soldiers, gods, ascendants, and various races as they navigate wars, politics, magic, and ancient mysteries.

Throughout the series, readers are introduced to a myriad of characters, each with their own intricate backstories and motivations. The narrative is known for its non-linear structure, philosophical undertones, and the sheer scope of its world-building.

AuthorSteven Erikson
GenreEpic Fantasy
Number of Books10
Publication Years1999 – 2011

Main Characters

  • Anomander Rake: Leader of the Tiste Andii, he wields the sword Dragnipur.
  • Ganoes Paran: Initially a captain in the Malazan army, he undergoes significant transformation throughout the series.
  • Whiskeyjack: A respected sergeant in the Malazan army and a central figure in the series.
  • Quick Ben: A powerful mage in the Malazan army known for his cunning and resourcefulness.
  • Kalam: An assassin and close friend to Quick Ben.
  • Tattersail: A mage in the Malazan army and an early central character in the series.

Themes and Motif

  • Mortality and Immortality: The series delves deep into the nature of life, death, and what lies beyond.
  • War and Sacrifice: The brutality and futility of war are central themes, as well as the sacrifices made by soldiers.
  • Power and Ascendancy: The series explores the nature of power, both mortal and divine, and the paths to ascendancy.
  • Compassion: Amidst the backdrop of war and chaos, the theme of compassion runs deeply throughout the series.
Popular:  The Red Queen's War Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological order

The Malazan Book of the Fallen Series in Order

S no.Book’s NameYearBook’s Price
1Gardens of the Moon1999Check Price
2Deadhouse Gates2000Check Price
3Memories of Ice2001Check Price
4House of Chains2002Check Price
5Midnight Tides2004Check Price
6The Bonehunters2006Check Price
7Reaper’s Gale2007Check Price
8Toll the Hounds2008Check Price
9Dust of Dreams2009Check Price
10The Crippled God2011Check Price


  • Critical Reception: “The Malazan Book of the Fallen” has been praised for its depth, complexity, and maturity, setting it apart in the epic fantasy genre.
  • Reader Reception: While some readers find the series challenging due to its complexity, many laud it for its rich storytelling and character development.

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • Steven Erikson, a trained archaeologist and anthropologist, has infused his knowledge into the series, giving it a unique depth in terms of cultures, civilizations, and history.
  • The world of Malazan was co-created by Steven Erikson and Ian Cameron Esslemont, both of whom have written novels set in the same universe.
  • The series is known for starting “in media res,” meaning it drops the reader into the middle of events with minimal exposition, which can be both intriguing and challenging.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!