The A Pattern of Shadow Light by Melissa McPhail

“A Pattern of Shadow & Light” is an intricate and epic fantasy series penned by Melissa McPhail. The narrative is characterized by its expansive world-building, multifaceted magic systems, and a rich tapestry of plots interwoven with themes of love, betrayal, sacrifice, and redemption. Throughout the series, readers are introduced to a vast array of characters, races, and cultures, each contributing to the overarching struggle between light and shadow.

McPhail’s series has been recognized for its deep philosophical undertones, unique magical constructs, and the way it challenges the very nature of reality, love, and personal destiny.

AuthorMelissa McPhail
Number of Books5
Publication Years2010 – 2019

Main Characters

  • Ean: A young prince grappling with a mysterious lineage and his destiny.
  • Trell: A man with hidden powers, journeying to discover the truth about his past.
  • Bjorn: A noble and skilled warrior seeking redemption and a path in a changing world.
  • Cephrael: A mysterious and powerful figure whose intentions shape the world’s fate.

Themes and Motif

  • Duality: The series prominently features the duality of light and shadow, good and evil, and how these forces interplay.
  • Destiny and Free Will: Characters are often confronted with prophecies or destinies, challenging their agency and choices.
  • Love and Sacrifice: Personal relationships and romances are integral to the narrative, driving character motivations and shaping their decisions.

“A Pattern of Shadow & Light” Series in Order

S no.Book’s NameYearBook’s Price
1Cephrael’s Hand2010Check Price
2The Dagger of Adendigaeth2012Check Price
3Paths of Alir2014Check Price
4Kingdom Blades2016Check Price
5The Sixth Strand2019Check Price


  • Critical Reception: “A Pattern of Shadow & Light” is known for its intricate plotlines and detailed world-building. Critics have praised McPhail’s imaginative scope and her skill in juggling an ensemble cast.
  • Reader Reception: The series has built a dedicated fanbase that lauds its depth, character development, and philosophical insights.
Popular:  The Inheritance Trilogy Series in Order: Complete Book Guide By N.K. Jemisin

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • McPhail’s world-building is extensive, featuring diverse cultures, languages, and intricate systems of magic.
  • The author often mentions her interest in philosophy, metaphysics, and quantum mechanics, which are subtly reflected in the series’ deeper themes.
  • The series poses profound questions about the nature of reality, challenging readers to think critically about the world McPhail has crafted and draw parallels to their own beliefs and understandings.

Written by

Naveen Mehta

Naveen is a book enthusiast by day and an anime junkie by night. With a knack for getting lost in stories that rattle his brain, he's often found immersed in a plot twist or debating book vs. movie adaptations. Dive into his world, but be prepared for some spirited blogs! 📚🍜🌌