The Temeraire Series by Naomi Novik

The “Temeraire” series, penned by the talented Naomi Novik, is a historical fantasy saga that consists of nine books, published between 2006 and 2016. Set against the backdrop of the Napoleonic Wars, the series introduces an alternate history where dragons are not only real but are also used as a primary weapon of war, serving as aerial combat units.

The narrative follows Captain Will Laurence and his dragon, Temeraire, as they navigate the complexities of war, politics, and the unique bond between dragon and rider. The series delves into themes of friendship, duty, honor, and the challenges of adapting to a rapidly changing world.

Novik’s blending of historical events with the fantastical element of dragons has been widely praised, offering readers a fresh perspective on a well-known period of history.

AuthorNaomi Novik
GenreHistorical Fantasy
Number of Books9
Publication Years2006 – 2016

Main Characters

  • Captain Will Laurence: A former naval captain who becomes bonded with the dragon Temeraire, leading to a drastic change in his life and career.
  • Temeraire: A rare and intelligent dragon who forms a deep bond with Laurence. He often questions societal norms and challenges the status quo.
  • Granby: A fellow aviator and friend to Laurence.
  • Tharkay: A half-Nepalese, half-English adventurer who becomes an ally to Laurence and Temeraire.

Themes and Motif

  • Friendship and Loyalty: The bond between Laurence and Temeraire underscores the series, highlighting the depth of their relationship.
  • War and Honor: The series delves into the intricacies of war, duty, and the moral challenges faced by those in combat.
  • Society and Change: Through Temeraire’s perspective, the series critiques societal norms, especially regarding the treatment of dragons and other marginalized groups.
Popular:  50 Best Fantasy Book Series (Must Read Before you Die)

The Temeraire Series in Order

S no.Book’s NameYearBook’s Price
1His Majesty’s Dragon2006Check Price
2Throne of Jade2006Check Price
3Black Powder War2006Check Price
4Empire of Ivory2007Check Price
5Victory of Eagles2008Check Price
6Tongues of Serpents2010Check Price
7Crucible of Gold2012Check Price
8Blood of Tyrants2013Check Price
9League of Dragons2016Check Price


  • Critical Reception: The “Temeraire” series has been lauded for its unique blend of history and fantasy, with critics praising Novik’s detailed world-building and character development.
  • Reader Reception: The series has garnered a dedicated fanbase, with many readers appreciating the fresh take on the Napoleonic Wars and the deep bond between the main characters.

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • Naomi Novik was inspired to write the series after reading a historical account of the Napoleonic Wars and imagining how dragons would fit into the narrative.
  • The series has been praised for its detailed portrayal of various cultures and societies, as Laurence and Temeraire travel around the world.
  • Novik’s depiction of dragons is unique, giving them distinct personalities, cultures, and roles within the societies they inhabit.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!