The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb

The Farseer Trilogy, written by the acclaimed author Robin Hobb, is a captivating fantasy series consisting of three books, published between 1995 and 1997. This series is the first set of novels in the larger “Realm of the Elderlings” series, which includes several other trilogies and standalone novels.

The story is set in a richly detailed and immersive fantasy world and follows the life and adventures of FitzChivalry Farseer, the illegitimate son of a prince, as he navigates the complexities of court intrigue, political machinations, and a mystical bond with animals known as the Wit.

AuthorRobin Hobb
Number of Books3
Publication Years1995 – 1997

Main Characters

  • FitzChivalry Farseer: The protagonist, also known as Fitz, is a royal bastard with a unique ability to communicate with animals through the Wit. He becomes entangled in the political struggles of the Six Duchies.
  • Burrich: Fitz’s loyal mentor and stablemaster, who raises him and teaches him various skills.
  • Chade Fallstar: The enigmatic royal assassin and mentor to Fitz, teaching him the art of assassination and diplomacy.
  • King Shrewd: The wise and ailing king of the Six Duchies who recognizes Fitz’s potential and employs him as an assassin.

Themes and Motifs

  • Power and Politics: The series explores the dynamics of power, royal politics, and the manipulation that occurs in the royal court.
  • Identity and Belonging: Fitz’s struggle with his identity as a royal bastard and his yearning for a sense of belonging is a central theme.
  • Magic and Mysticism: The Wit, a magical ability to bond with animals, and the Skill, a form of telepathy, are key elements of the series.
Popular:  The Inheritance Cycle Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological order

The Farseer Trilogy Books in Order

S no.Book’s NameYearBook’s Price
1Assassin’s Apprentice1995Check Price
2Royal Assassin1996Check Price
3Assassin’s Quest1997Check Price


  • Critical Reception: The Farseer Trilogy is highly regarded for its intricate world-building, well-developed characters, and deep exploration of political and personal themes.
  • Reader Reception: The series has garnered a dedicated fanbase and is considered a classic of modern fantasy literature.

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • Robin Hobb is a pen name for the American author Margaret Astrid Lindholm Ogden.
  • The Farseer Trilogy serves as the foundation for the larger “Realm of the Elderlings” series, which includes multiple other trilogies and novels set in the same world.
  • Robin Hobb’s writing is known for its rich character development and detailed exploration of the human condition, making her a prominent figure in the fantasy genre.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!