Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

The “Harry Potter” series, penned by the illustrious J.K. Rowling, is a fantasy saga that spans seven books, published between 1997 and 2007. Set in a magical world intertwined with our own, the narrative follows the life of Harry Potter, an orphaned boy who learns of his wizarding heritage on his eleventh birthday.

Alongside his friends Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley, Harry navigates the challenges of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, all while confronting the dark wizard, Lord Voldemort. The series delves into profound themes such as friendship, love, bravery, and prejudice.

Garnering widespread acclaim from critics and readers alike, the books have been transformed into a successful film series and have left an indelible mark on global pop culture. Fun tidbits include Rowling’s inspiration for the series during a train journey and the record-breaking sales of the final book.

AuthorJ.K. Rowling
Number of Books7
Publication Years1997 – 2007

Main Characters

  • Harry Potter: The protagonist of the series, an orphaned boy who discovers on his eleventh birthday that he is a wizard. He attends Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and faces various challenges, including his nemesis, Lord Voldemort.
  • Hermione Granger: One of Harry’s best friends, she is known for her intelligence and resourcefulness. Hermione is a Muggle-born witch, meaning both her parents are non-magical.
  • Ron Weasley: Another of Harry’s closest friends, Ron comes from a large, loving wizarding family. He’s loyal and often provides comic relief.
  • Lord Voldemort: The primary antagonist of the series, he is a dark wizard intent on becoming immortal and ruling the wizarding world.
Popular:  A Pattern of Shadow & Light Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological order

Themes and Motif

  • Friendship: The series emphasizes the importance of friendship, loyalty, and trust, as seen through the close bond between Harry, Ron, and Hermione.
  • Love: Love, especially a mother’s love for her child, plays a crucial role in the series, providing protection and strength.
  • Courage and Bravery: Many characters, especially those in Gryffindor, display acts of bravery and stand up against evil.
  • Prejudice: The series delves into issues of prejudice, especially through the treatment of Muggle-borns and “half-bloods” by “pure-blood” wizards.

Harry Potter Series in Order

S no.Book’s Name(Year)Book’s Price
1Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone(1997)Check Price
2Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets(1998)Check Price
3Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban(1999)Check Price
4Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire(2000)Check Price
5Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix(2003)Check Price
6Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince(2005)Check Price
7Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows(2007)Check Price


  • Critical Reception: The Harry Potter series has been widely acclaimed by critics for its complex characters, intricate plot, and exploration of deep themes.
  • Reader Reception: The series has a massive global fanbase, with readers of all ages. It has sold over 500 million copies worldwide and has been translated into numerous languages.


  • Film Series
    • Release Dates: 2001 – 2011
    • Director: Various directors, including Chris Columbus, Alfonso Cuarón, Mike Newell, and David Yates.
    • Cast: Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter), Emma Watson (Hermione Granger), Rupert Grint (Ron Weasley), and many others.
    • Reception: The film adaptations were generally well-received and grossed over $7.7 billion worldwide.
Popular:  Powder Mage Trilogy Series in Order: Complete Book Guide in Chronological Order

Trivia and Fun Facts

  • The idea for the series came to Rowling during a train journey from Manchester to London in 1990.
  • The character of Hermione is somewhat based on Rowling herself when she was younger.
  • The last book, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,” sold 11 million copies in the first 24 hours of its release.

Written by

Rajat Mehta

Meet Rajat, the coolest cat at The Serial Binger! This writer is all about that Manga/Manhwa and Book life. With an unbreakable love for the lovely stories, Rajat hooks readers up with the freshest and mind-blowing updates. Get ready to groove and geek out with Rajat's funky articles!